SONNYJIM ft. Westside Gunn – Red Mullet


 

The other night I got a message from Kris Ex to check out SONNYJIM’s Mud In My Malbec. After a quick Google search, I noticed there were only some snippets from the album out, but that was enough (stream it after the jump). I rather you listen to the sampler first, but to give you an idea, the UK rapper uses Jazz-sampled beats & has the kind of rhyme-style that instantly turned myself and others onto the likes of Action Bronson, Roc Marciano, etc. Rappers and their die-hard fans generally don’t like those kind of comparisons, but it’s the only way to describe the feeling I got from listening to it, and this is coming from someone completely jaded from rap who hasn’t been excited (short of a few exceptions) in the last three or so years.

Pre-order “Mud In My Malbec” and purchase some product here. The project features the likes of Heems, Da$h, Quelle Chris, Westside Gunn & The Purist. Listen to “Scramble” featuring Da$h, that I’ve been playing ever since, below. #Fire

Leave a Reply

